Latest News

The Winter 2019 Quarterly newsletter is now available in digital format. To access it, go to:
2019 Winter Quarterly
A list of research helps for Idaho genealogy is found on the Idaho Links page. Here is a direct link to
Idaho Research Resources
Another useful list of research helps is found on our blog Online Resources on IGS Blog.
Online Version of the Cumulative Index of Footprints
Volunteer Opportunities
Members Only Access

Latah County
Established: 5/14/1888

Parent County: Nez Perce

Co. Seat: Cities
Moscow: Bovill, Deary, Genesse, Juliaetta, Kendrick, Onaway, Potlatch, Troy, Viola

Established May 14, 1888 with its county seat at Moscow. This area was first formed as Lah-Toh County in 1864
with Coeur d'Alene as the county seat; in 1867 the name Lah-Toh was dropped when the area was placed in Nez
Perce County. In 1888 the U. S. Congress created the county as we know it, the 16th Idaho County and the only
Idaho County created by Congress. Named for Latah Creek, which drains the northwest corner. The name is Nez
Perce and means "the place of pine trees and sestle," because the Indians found stones here suitable for pulverizing
camas roots and shade under the pine trees in which to work.

County Clerk:
County Courthouse, Moscow, ID 83843-0568 Phone: (208) 882-8580 ext. 3379 Fax: (208) 883-7203

IGS Publication: Spring 1997